The Next Big Thing

There’s a “blog hop” going on in the horror writing community right now where authors tag each other to answer questions about upcoming projects. I was included by Sheri White at http://sheriw1965.blogspot.com/

What is the working title of your book or story?

I’m actually working on a couple of different things. One is an ‘epic’ fantasy novel, working title Bard’s Return. Also in my usual genre of horror, a novella about dimension traveling shape-changers with a deadly appetite.

Where did the idea come from for the book or story?

Bard’s Return has been a work in progress for the last few years. I was reading the Sword of Truth and the Wheel of Time series, and really started thinking about creating my own world with magic and an epic battle of good vs evil. I’ve ended up with what I think is a wonderfully diverse group of characters, who could literally take this story anywhere. We’ll see how far we can go together.

The shape-changers novella is based on a story I started writing in my early twenties. I never finished it, and let it sit and gather dust  for a long time. Going back through some old stuff I happened upon it again, and decided it was still a good premise, so I’ve started rewriting it from the beginning.

What genre does your book fall under?

Bard’s Return is fantasy all the way – magic, medieval weaponry, gods and goddesses and an undying evil that must somehow be defeated.

The shape-changers novella is horror/urban fantasy. The main characters are from another dimension, but the story takes place in this world at the present time.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Honestly, that’s something I haven’t given any thought to. I can see the characters clearly in my mind, but they don’t really look like anyone but themselves 🙂

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book or story?

Bard’s Return: When an ancient evil comes back into the world, only the legends and teaching songs of centuries past can prepare the people on how to fight it; along with the help of the Kindred who helped to banish it a millenia before.

novella: When a Kaiferre outcast flees her world for our own, she seeks only the freedom to make her own choices; her kinsmen who follow will vow to take her back, with no regard to how much death and destruction is left in their wake.

Will your book or story be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’ve received some interest from a small publisher, but at this point I’m still finishing up on both projects. I won’t submit either until they are completed.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Again, still working on them. The novella has been about 9 months because I keep getting pulled away for other projects. The fantasy novel is more like a year and a half, and I’m just about done with it.

What other books or stories would you compare this story to within your genre?

Bard’s Return might be comparable to Wizard’s First Rule or The Eye of the World as far as the scope and that it is just the beginning of a longer story cycle.

The novella… really not sure!

Who or What inspired you to write this book or story?

Terry Goodkind, Robert Jordan, Patricia McKillip, Marion Zimmer Bradley

What else about your book or story might pique the reader’s interest?

Hopefully the characters are as interesting to other people as they’ve become to me.

 

3 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing”

Leave a Reply

